#KeepGoing , a Lot Can Change in a Year

So, you might have seen the #KeepGoing hashtag floating around the Twittersphere lately, and although I thought it was just a 140-character pep talk at first, Info Dump a la El says it’s actually a movement to get writers to look back at where they were a year ago, and how far they’ve come in the past year. At first all I could think was “I’ve gone nowhere this year”, but as I thought back to last summer I realized that was completely and totally untrue.

A year ago I posted Don’t Give Up because I was still slogging through the re-write of Nameless, and GUTGAA was on the horizon (I hadn’t even met S.K. Falls yet! I can’t imagine life without her now). This year? Nameless is querying and I’ve had a couple partial requests. GUTGAA was a success, although it broke my heart. I’ve figured out what’s wrong with my heart and that it’s not life-threatening. I’ve even started working out (ok, so I was doing Yoga last summer, but not regularly).

So even though it sometimes feels like I’m still in the same loser place that I was last year, I’m actually not. I’m a bit ahead. And who knows where I’ll be at the end of August next year? Maybe I’ll be querying Apollo. Maybe I’ll have Speak the Ocean written. Maybe Nameless will have hooked an agent’s interest further than the first fifty pages.

I can tell you one thing you won’t be seeing next year: me saying “I’m giving up”. Plans may change (as they have this month), but I’m not giving up.

Have a wonderful holiday weekend, Aledans.

Dad and me on the top of Stone Mountain, a year ago.
Dad and me on the top of Stone Mountain, a year ago.
Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

8 thoughts on “#KeepGoing , a Lot Can Change in a Year”

  1. This is fantastic! I’m so happy that things have come a long way in a year for you. Thank you for the reminder – I’m going to see where I was this time last year. Stepping back to look at the big picture periodically can make a big difference. Fabulous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

