Taking Care of Business, and a #WriteMotivation Update.

checklistHappy #PitMad day, Aledans! I’ll be on and off Twitter all day, pitching NAMELESS and RTing the pitches I think are interesting. If you want to join the fun, the details are at Brenda Drake’s blog. I also saw a number of agents on Twitter saying they wouldn’t be watching the #PitMad stream because it’s too confusing, and that reminded me that I have to send a few queries today. Here’s hoping the #PitMad luck helps with those 😉

Which brings us to September’s #WriteMotivation goals:

 

1. Finish Faye and Tarrin.
2. Research Speak the Ocean.
3. Get everything ready for the PonyFest13 announcement on September 15th! DONE! The post is ready for Sunday!
4. Figure out which scenes to re-write from Daphne’s POV in Apollo.
5. Send at least two queries a week for Nameless.
6. Swim laps at least twice a week.

I finally got my writing mojo back for Faye and Tarrin this week, so I’m plugging along on that. I briefly looked at Apollo’s outline to see which scenes need to change, but I’ll have to take a more in-depth look later. I will be sending queries today! Enough to make up for last week as well.

And I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t swam at all this week.

I have been researching Speak the Ocean though. I read Fathomless last weekend, and it was so good it put me in the mood to start writing. I still have to finish Faye and Tarrin first, but I’m so geeked to read more mermaid stories and start writing StO. In fact, do you have any recommendations for good mermaid stories?

Although from the list it doesn’t look like I’ve done much lately, I’ve checked off a number of personal to-dos that were causing quite a bit of stress. Now that those things are done I can focus on the #writemotivation list. First up: researching some of the agents on my query list. I’m going to go do that now.

Good luck if you’re participating in #PitMad, and don’t forget to return on Sunday for the announcement of PonyFest13! This year is going to be bigger and better than ever 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “Taking Care of Business, and a #WriteMotivation Update.”

  1. Awesome. I love when a great story gets me in the mood to get going on my own 🙂 And congrats on the personal to-dos… those are the things that keep anything else from getting done, so the most important I think. Glad to hear some stress has been released! 🙂 Good luck with the agent research!

  2. Did someone say…mermaid? *Puts on librarian hat* Sleeping with the Fishes by MaryJanice Davidson, Tempest Rising by Tracey Deets, Of Poseidon by Anna Banks, Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown, Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman, Wake by Amanda Hocking, The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova, Lost Voices by Sarah Porter, Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings by Helene Boudreau, and Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs. Does that help? 🙂

  3. Amy has a great list of mermaid books! Cool. I have a really, really bad merpeople ms that you can’t read. 😉 Someday I’ll re-vision that story. StO will be long finished by then.

    Good luck with #pitmad! I forgot that today is the day. I love reading those tweets, especially without the stress of including my own pitch.

Leave a Reply

