A Really Good Week, and a #WriteMotivation Update

Hubs and I being pirates in Key West.
Hubs and I being pirates in Key West.

Happy Talk Like A Pirate Day, Aledans! So far my favorite pirate-speak comes from @HannahPBowman with “As You Wish”. Dawwwww. Dread Pirate Wesley ❤

Also, you know, #PonyFest13 is in full swing and I know of at least three designs coming this way soon, so I’m having a pretty freaking fantastic week. To top it all off, I’m going out for adult milkshakes tonight with SK Falls, Jocelyn Rish, and Leah Rhyne tonight. That’s like a cherry on top of my adult milkshake whipped cream.

I’m kind of all over the place today. I can’t help it. The summer has finally stopped beating me up long enough for me to get a couple punches in, and that feels pretty damn good. I’m even working on my #WriteMotivation Goals:

1. Finish Faye and Tarrin.
2. Research Speak the Ocean.
3. Get everything ready for the PonyFest13 announcement on September 15th! If you haven’t seen the announcement and want to win a custom pony based on your novel (and free books!) check out #PonyFest13.
4. Figure out which scenes to re-write from Daphne’s POV in Apollo.
5. Send at least two queries a week for Nameless.
6. Swim laps at least twice a week. It suddenly got WAY too cold out to swim, so this has changed to take the dogs on long walks and do “one hundreds” (it’s a pilates thing).

Faye and Tarrin is coming along nicely, and it should be ready by the time Aleda’s Story is finished (OMG, there are only three more installments of Aleda’s Story! Are you ready to cry your eyes out?). StO planning is also going well. Once F&T is finished I’ll map out StO and get ready to start writing it in November.

Apollo has been floundering all year, but now that it’s almost fall (Sunday!) I’m getting the bug back. Since Apollo is set in the fall and I wrote it in the fall, I just couldn’t get into it in the spring/summer.

I’ve been sending my queries like a good girl, and although I didn’t get any favorites at #PitMad last week the Madness luck has still been on my side. I’ll be sending out more queries today (once I write an author bio for one of them *scratches head* Would the one Juliana wrote me work? “Nuclear Chemist and Fantasy Author fueled by wine, my-little-pony-love, and a healthy (unhealthy?) obsession with editing.” 😉 )

And yeah, about swimming…even though it’s technically still summer until Sunday it seems the weather didn’t get that memo. So I’m switching to long walks with the dogs, and “one hundreds”, which is when you lay on the ground with your legs up and your arms flapping up and down one hundred times. It sounds stupid (and probably looks stupid), but it’s a really good core workout.

So yeah, that’s been my week. How has your week gone? Anything happy to share? Any custom pony designs to throw my way?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

3 thoughts on “A Really Good Week, and a #WriteMotivation Update”

Leave a Reply

