Custom of the Week: Haku (and the #PonyFest13 winner!)

Wow, Aledans. #PonyFest13 was a wild ride this year. Despite waking up early on Saturday, I stayed up until Midnight so I could see the poll (there’s no way to stop people from voting after midnight, as I learned last year) and announce the winner. But before the winner, we have an awesome custom pony to show off! I came across this one on DeviantArt and could not resist featuring it. I saw Spirited Away with one of my best friends in college, and it was my first foray into full-length anime (also: ducks in baths!) so this one is kind of special to me, because it reminds me of that night 🙂

Haku, by Soulren
Haku, by Soulren

The whiskers! I love them! I can’t get enough of this pony 🙂

But now, on to the PonyFest13 results. The winner, with an un-HERD-of (pun intended) 50% of the vote is….

Edgwyn, by Danielle
Edgwyn, by Danielle

Congratulations Danielle! You had the cleverest introduction for any design I’ve ever seen, and the voters agreed! Please email me at rebeccaenzor@gmail.com with your address so I can send you the books and arrange for Kalavista to make the pony!

And the runner-up prize goes to…

Tempest, by Aly
Tempest, by Aly

You guys have no idea how appropriate this is 🙂 Not only did I meet Aly through RPing My Little Ponies, but she came to Key West with me last year – and Tempest is a water-themed pony!

To everyone who played, I want to give a huge THANK YOU! I can’t express how much this contest brightened my days as I clicked through to look at the ponies time and time again. You are all very talented writers, and very talented pony designers. I can’t wait to have your books on my bookshelf!

And if you didn’t win, or didn’t know about the contest in time to enter: No worries! I run it every year in September/October (around my birthday, because who doesn’t want all that happiness on their blog for their birthday?!) And if you’re really itching for your own custom pony let me know – I’ll get you in contact with a customizer who can make it for you 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

18 thoughts on “Custom of the Week: Haku (and the #PonyFest13 winner!)”

  1. I love Haku!! That’s two Hayao Miyazaki films you’ve featured as customs, and I must say I’m surprised there were even ponies based on them out there! I guess you can find anything. 😀

    Congrats to Danielle and Aly! Your ponies are awesome and I can’t wait to see the custom of Edgwyn. (You *are* featuring it, Rebecca, yes?)

  2. Oh my goodness! And Edgwyn’s goodness! Our collective goodness, gosh, and wow!
    This is amazing. Thank you, Rebecca! — I’ll email my contact info right after these messages. And well-fought, Aly! — you and your Tempest had me worried plenty of times along the way. And to anyone reading this who was sweet enough to vote for my beloved tailor pony… *blubbers something about gratitude before getting dragged off the platform and told to get a-hold of herself*

    P.S. — that dragon pony is crazy-cool!

  3. The customs you feature, never cease to amaze me. I haven’t seen the movie (I know!), but I love it. Dragons get me. 😀

    PonyFest13 was a wild ride! Congratulations to Danielle and Aly!

    I hope I have something new finished in time for PonyFest14. (Actually, I’m hoping to have lots of new stuff finished by next year.) Thanks for an awesome event, Rebecca!

    1. *gasp* You haven’t seen Spirited Away?! You would love it. Get thee to a Netflix account, stat!

      As long as you’re writing it you can enter a pony from it – the book doesn’t have to be finished 🙂

    1. I hold it every year, so you can enter next year 😀 I’ll try to remember to let you know when it’s going on (it always starts half-way through September and finishes half-way through October).

Leave a Reply

