Writing Backwards

Happy Thursday, Aledans! The manic happiness of the other week is over, and so is most of “the month of do-nothing”. I’m still feeling happy, just not quite so “I want to hug the world forever and ever” happy. Which is good. The world couldn’t deal with being hugged that long 😉

Aly and I in Key West. Writing StO has me itching to return!
Aly and I in Key West. Writing StO has me itching to return!

My manic reading spree has also come to an end (for now), and I’ve settled into writing Speak the Ocean. Backwards. I wrote the final scene, then skipped to the next big scene before it, and I’m going to write until I hit the final scene again. Then I’ll skip to the next big scene before that…and you get the idea. I’ve never written this way before, but it’s fun. Much better then floundering through the beginning trying to figure out where I’m going. Plus, by the beginning I’ll know the characters so well I won’t have to deal with that awkward “who are these people?” beginning of the novel.

I’ve been having such a good time writing backwards that I even wrote 1,800 words yesterday! I haven’t done that in…a very long time. Maybe since NaNo 2010? Although that was such a failure of a year it might have been NaNo 2009. I guess when you’re electrocuting mermaids you just can’t be bothered to look up from your paper and pen 😉

I did take an hour out of writing yesterday to do yoga for the first time since August or September. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be to get back into it, but I’m certainly feeling it today. Everything from my neck to my knees is sore, but the good kind of sore.

I also found this nifty website last week called DIY MFA, and I’m planning out the books I need to read while I work on StO. Lots of mermaid novels (if you have a suggestion for one that I shouldn’t pass up please let me know! I’ve already read FATHOMLESS and adored it), and now I’m trying to find some books set in Key West (there are lots of murder mysteries and romance novels, but I’m not finding much else – and yes, I’ve read TO HAVE AND HAVE NOT). Any book recommendations would be wonderful 🙂

How has your week been going so far, Aledans? Have you ever tried writing a book backwards?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

7 thoughts on “Writing Backwards”

    1. I didn’t think I’d ever be able to do it either, but it’s actually working out well for this story 🙂 I also think I’ll be completely re-writing StO as something a bit different when I’m finished with this draft, but that’s a conversation for another time 😉

  1. I have never tried writing backwards though I’ve heard of outlining backwards. I love the idea so many of my stories start with a scene idea somewhere around the climax. I’ll have to give it a good one of these days 🙂

    Happy writing Rebecca!

  2. How smart! I may have to try writing that way sometime–I have a new story waiting in the wings that I already know the ending for, but I have to finish the Hunter Moon (Marce’s story) revisions that are kicking my butt right now.

    I can’t wait to read StO!

Leave a Reply

