Dear February: I Like You (and a #WriteMotivation Update)

The first new green of the season! Feb 2nd.
The first new green of the season! Feb 2nd.

Dear February, I like you. You’ve been awesome so far, and I hope you remain awesome. I haven’t felt so good about my writing in a long time. Where 2012 and 2013 were full of doubt and disappointment, things seem to be falling into place this month. I’m writing a book that I absolutely adore, that my CPs have all enjoyed so far. The voice of the MC is strong and so much fun to write, and I’ve been steadily writing it every day. It’s not NaNo-madness writing either; it’s good writing. Writing that I won’t have to throw away when it comes to editing (not all of it, at least). Juliana said it sounded “confident” and I almost cried at work. I’m still in the midst of a StO honeymoon, and I’m nearing the first plot point, which is when it really starts to get exciting. I can’t wait!

I also found out yesterday that NAMELESS made it through the Bouncer round of Cupid’s Blind Speed Dating, which means I’m going to the agent round next week! Which is really funny, because with all the StO love going on right now I’d kind of forgotten about Nameless and the contest. I’m curious to see if Nameless gets any agent love, but if not that’s ok. I’ll console myself with StO 🙂

For #WriteMotivation this month I only made a few goals, and so far I’m doing pretty good:

  1. Continue writing Speak the Ocean. This hasn’t been a problem so far – I’m writing daily!
  2. Map out StO. Nearly finished! I just have to add some of the middle parts.
  3. Re-name the Apollo crew. Yeah…nope.

Re-naming the Apollo crew may not happen, because my mind is so far away from Poe and his friends that I just don’t care at this moment. All I care about right now is Finn and Erie and Jen and Sergio and Maddy and Huron, and how their stories are all coming together into what is possibly my favorite thing I’ve ever written (sorry Kindra).

So instead of extending this update any further, I’m going to go write 🙂 I hope your February is just as fabulous as mine!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

5 thoughts on “Dear February: I Like You (and a #WriteMotivation Update)”

  1. Your February looks like my April. We have a foot of snow so far today in the Boston area. But shoveling is great exercise! And I relate to your LOVE of your WIP. I fell in love with mine last week after wrestling with the plot for a couple of months, and have been writing nearly every day since–just as you describe, not NaNo madness, just good solid progress.

    Congrats on your speed dating success! Here’s to continued interest from agents.

Leave a Reply

