The Muddy Middle (and a #WriteMotivation Update)

I couldn't find an ocean-themed notebook, so I went for the spring theme.
I couldn’t find an ocean-themed notebook, so I went for the spring theme.

Happy Friday, Aledan Merfolk! This week the slow season at work officially ended, abruptly, and I’ve been insanely busy. Which is why this update is going up rather late, and Science Tuesday never happened. It’s also why I haven’t sent my critters new StO chapters all week long. Not that I haven’t been writing – in fact, I bought a new writing notebook at lunch 😀 Is there anything better than finishing a writing notebook? Other than ponies and wine, of course?

Speaking of ponies, I have merponies coming to the blog for Custom of the Week! Hopefully lots and lots of merponies, and maybe even a sea pony! Why yes, there is a difference, which I’ll explain if I’m allowed to feature the sea pony 🙂

As far as chugging along on StO goes, I’ve reached the muddy middle, where I’m not sure if what I’m writing is working, or if I’m going to have to scrap it and re-write. There doesn’t seem to be enough driving force in this section. I’m also not quite sure how to get to the midpoint. I know what happens at the midpoint (you’re going to love it), but I don’t quite know how to get to it without rushing everything. Once I get to the second “pinch point” as Story Engineering calls it, I have everything set and ready to go. But yeah, still climbing that hill to the midpoint.

Speaking of climbing hills, let’s check out those #WriteMotivation goals:

1. Continue writing Speak the Ocean. I’ve hit the muddy middle section, but I’m still writing daily.

2. Start writing the query for StO. I still need to work on the middle and end.

3. Do better with visiting the other blogs. Um, oops.

4. Run 2x per week. Yoga once per week. I haven’t run for my second time yet this week, but maybe tonight, since it’s so nice out.

Not bad, except for the other blogs part.

Have a good weekend, Aledan Merfolk. I’ll see you back here on Sunday for a merpony custom!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

5 thoughts on “The Muddy Middle (and a #WriteMotivation Update)”

  1. That muddy middle!

    I’m a bit behind on my StO reading, so I’m a tad glad that you haven’t sent me new pages. LOL. I’ll catch up this weekend. I promise!

    Yay for new notebooks and sea ponies! 😀

  2. I bought a new notebook last week to jot notes in while I was waiting to pick up the kids from school- the darn thing is too pretty to write in! But that just means I have to buy another- not so pretty- notebook. Can’t wait to find out what the difference is between merponies and sea ponies. Good luck on your goals this month.

Leave a Reply

