*Actually* Back from Hiatus

Happy Tuesday Aledan Merfolk! I know I said a week and a half ago that I was back from hiatus, and then I disappeared again, but I’m actually back this time. In fact, on Thursday I’ll be hosting a Cover Reveal, which is why this update is going up on Tuesday instead of Thursday.

Although I haven’t been hanging around the blogosphere for the past month, I have made a ton of progress on StO lately. Late last week I decided to try writing a scene from Erie’s POV in first person, instead of third. That worked out so well that now I’m having to go back and change all her previous scenes to first person, which will help age her voice up a bit and make her a little more dangerous. As it is, she’s really sweet and innocent, and I just can’t imagine someone in her circumstances being that way. Plus, StO is an NA, and right now her voice is reading very much YA. I’m going to write a few more new scenes in her new POV to get a handle on it, then I’ll be going back through the first half to fix the scenes there. Then off to the CPs who haven’t had a chance to read the old version yet.

If you’re interested in reading a few short lines from StO, you can find them scattered about my Facebook page. Hopefully I’ll be able to switch the POV and finish the rest of this book before my vacation in May, but knowing me (and how often I decide to change things in this book), I wouldn’t count on it 😉 Still, considering how many times I’ve had to go back and change things, and how much of a bitch April has been, I think I’m doing pretty good!

Have a wonderful week, Aledans, and don’t forget to come back on Thursday for the Cover Reveal of THE PAPER MAGICIAN by Charlie Holmberg!

Aly Grauer as Captain Joy Jones.

P.S. My BFF Aly Grauer has an awesome Kickstarter campaign going on right now for SPACE HAPPENS: “A feminist satire of contemporary science fiction developed, written and produced by women in Chicago comedy”

For just $26 you get a postcard written by your favorite character while drunk in an interstellar bar! Sounds pretty awesome, no?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

One thought on “*Actually* Back from Hiatus”

Leave a Reply

