Fie Eoin Friday: Speak the Ocean WIP Lines

Happy Friday, Aledan Merfolk! Debra Kristi tagged me in the Lucky Seven WIP Lines challenge this week, and you may remember back when I was tagged for APOLLO and NAMELESS. In case you forgot, the rules are: Go to page 7 or 77 of your current manuscript. Scroll down to line 7. Then post the 7 lines following from there, exactly as they are!

Page seven doesn’t even have seven lines on it because it’s the very end of a chapter, but page 77 has a nice little bit with Finn and Jen. Unfortunately, Erie the mermaid doesn’t appear in this selection, but you can read her WIPlines from a few weeks ago. For now, enjoy the human side of SPEAK THE OCEAN:

“Do you have any siblings?”

Jen looks at me, and turns back to the water so quickly it’s like I’ve shocked her. “No. I mean…I did, but she died years ago.”

“I’m sorry,” I say, a cold, dead fish in my hand, but I mean it. Jen’s too good a person to have lost someone like that.

“It’s not…” She presses her lips together, then looks at me again. “It’s not your fault, Finn.”

That’s a little weird. She says it like she just came to the conclusion that I’m not personally responsible for her sibling’s death.

~~~~~

Not the most exciting WIPlines, but the rules are the rules. I’ll try to have something a bit more exciting next week, and the week after that I’ll be bringing you an excerpt from a different mermaid novel: Zoraida Cordova’s THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA!

Tip: Pre-order THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA and enter to win one of the awesome prizes at Zoraida's website!
Tip: Pre-order THE VAST AND BRUTAL SEA and enter to win one of the awesome prizes at Zoraida’s website!

Now it’s your turn: share seven lines from your WIP below!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

8 thoughts on “Fie Eoin Friday: Speak the Ocean WIP Lines”

    1. I’m really enjoying it, actually. I never thought I would write in first person present, but that’s how Finn’s voice came to me, so I figured I might as well try. It’s working, so I’m going to stick with it! 🙂

  1. I’ve been tagged, too. I can’t decide which WIP to use. LOL.

    That little snippet up there may seem boring to you, but every word counts. Can’t wait to learn more about Jen. I’m still in love with Finn. 😀

    1. It’s not boring to me (or you, I’m guessing ;)), but for most people it would be. The scene in writing right now builds on this do perfectly…

      And use an excerpt from GLOW! Cause I’m excited to learn more!

  2. I didn’t find it boring at all. I found Finn rather intriguing. Jen too. I was at Barns and Noble yesterday and my daughter was looking at all the mermaid books. I mentioned I knew someone working on one now. She asked If I would get it for her when it was finished. Guess that’s a hint for you to hurry up. 😉 LOL.

Leave a Reply

