Mermaid Nails and a Creepy Story

Happy Thursday, Aledan Merfolk! There’s no #WriteMotivation this month, so there isn’t a whole lot to update you on. I finished that awesome Erie scene that I talked about last week, and am working on the next Finn chapter, although I can already tell there isn’t enough tension and I’ll need to re-write it. So I took yesterday off from writing to a) paint my nails mermaid color, b) shop for new living-room lamps, and c) read a tension-filled short story called THE DEMON BARKER OF WHEAT STREET, which is in the (now on sale) Anthology CARNIEPUNK. There’s another short story in the book called “Daughter of the Midway, the Mermaid, and the Open, Lonely Sea” which is what I’m reading next, because DUH.

Mermaid's Tale nail polish - I'm obsessed!
Mermaid’s Tale nail polish – I’m obsessed!

I’ve been a little bit obsessed with the new mermaid nail polish this week, and since I’m REALLY bad at painting my nails and not screwing them up I’ve had to redo it a couple times. But it looks so good now. I put Mermaid’s Tale over a shimmery green and now I just want to stare at my nails all day long. Which is funny, because up until two months ago I went out of my way to hide my nails from the world.

So yeah, with all the wet nail polish, lunch-time shopping trips, and good short stories, I haven’t been writing as much as I usually do, but now that the nails are dry, the lamps shining, and the short story that I’ve been dying to read is read, it’s time to start writing again! Especially since my little sister finally caught up with StO and is bugging me to finish 🙂

Have a good weekend, Aledans, and I’ll see you on Sunday for a glow-in-the-dark custom pony!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

Leave a Reply

