Fie Eoin Friday: The Winged Warrior, Part 3

Happy Friday, Aledans! I didn’t get an update post up yesterday, but that’s because I’ve done almost nothing writing-wise this past week (although I did edit the first scene of StO to make the sentences pretty), so you aren’t missing out on much of an update 😉 We’re continuing with Ocean’s story today – you can read Part 1 or Part 2 if you missed them.

The Winged Warrior

Ocean’s tent was twenty feet deep and ten feet wide, with a banked cookfire in the center and a cot on either side. She had moved her armor and weapons to the right side, leaving the left empty. Supplies for food storage and preparation lined the back wall.

Curls sat on her cot and stared at the wall as Yule helped Ocean prepare for the feast. “You have a lot of weapons.”

Ocean winced as the sharp edge of the iron cuirass scraped the base of her wing. “I’ve killed a lot of people.”

The princess studied her face for a moment. “I thought the Faye didn’t fight?”

The Faye that had come from across the mountains, like Yule, wouldn’t touch weapons. They were healers and priestesses, not warriors. “They don’t, but I’m a daughter of Fie Eoin. I come from a long line of warriors.”

“But how’d you get your name? I thought they had to whip you for that.”

For the Mother she had a lot of questions. “I cut my wings off for the ceremony, then grew them back.”

The princess’ eyes grew wide. “You cut off your own wings?”

Yule tugged hard on a buckle and Ocean winced again as the plate dug into the scars on her back. “Actually, Barracuda did it, with Yule’s help. She told him where to cut, and it took all of winter to grow them back, but it was worth it. I’m faster than any other warrior and I can attack my enemies from above.”

The princess’ gaze slid back to the weapons on the wall. “Will you teach me?”

“No.”

“I come from a long line of warriors too.” The girl touched the scar on her chin. “If you teach me to fight then I’ll be able to protect myself. I won’t need a guard.”

Yule ducked under Ocean’s arm to fix the buckles in the front. A teasing smile brightened her face. “The princess has a point.”

“See?” Curls said. “Even a Faye priestess agrees.”

The smile on Yule’s face grew. She would pay for that as soon as Ocean could sneak away from the feast.

Ocean shook her head as she forced the image of Yule’s smooth, flushed skin from her mind and focused on her conversation with the princess. “You will always need a guard. Even your father has a guard. Even the Warrior Goddess had a guard while she was mortal.”

“But all my guards have failed.”

Ocean grabbed her dagger from her cot and tucked it into her belt. “Why do you say that?”

Curls touched her scar, her gaze landing on the wall of weapons again. When she spoke it was at a whisper. “Because they’re all dead.”

Ocean crossed the tent and squeezed the princess’ shoulder. “But you’re still alive, which means they didn’t fail at all.”

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

3 thoughts on “Fie Eoin Friday: The Winged Warrior, Part 3”

Leave a Reply

